Miami Dade County Logo_10-2014

About the Compact

The Southeast Florida Regional Climate Change Compact was executed by Broward, Miami-Dade, Monroe, and Palm Beach Counties in January 2010 to coordinate mitigation and adaptation activities across county lines. The Compact represents a new form of regional climate governance designed to allow local governments to set the agenda for adaptation while providing an efficient means for state and federal agencies to engage with technical assistance and support.

At the conclusion of the first Southeast Florida Regional Climate Leadership Summit on Oct. 23, 2009, four County representatives – Broward County Commissioner Kristin Jacobs, Palm Beach County Commissioner Shelley Vana, Miami-Dade County Commissioner Katy Sorenson, and Monroe County Mayor George Neugent – signed the Southeast Florida Regional Climate Change Compact committing to take it back to their County Commissions for review and adoption.

The Compact calls for the Counties to work cooperatively to:

  • Develop annual Legislative Programs and jointly advocate for state and federal policies and funding
  • Dedicate staff time and resources to create a Southeast Florida Regional Climate Action Plan to include mitigation and adaptation strategies
  • Meet annually in Regional Climate Summits to mark progress and identify emerging issues.

Since 2009, the four Compact Counties have accomplished much together and have also worked with a growing number of federal, state, regional, municipal, nonprofit, academic and private sector partners. Widely recognized as one of the nation’s leading examples of regional-scale climate action, the Compact continues to serve as the mechanism to collaborate for climate adaptation.

Click here for a brief overview of the Climate Change Compact.

Key Contacts

The four Compact Counties have designated senior staff members to serve as a Staff Steering Committee charged with assuring fulfillments of the Compact commitments. Each Compact County is afforded two votes on the Staff Steering Committee, whether held by two separate members or cast by a single Compact County representative.

Broward County Staff Steering Committee Members

Jennifer Jurado Director and Chief Resiliency Officer, Environmenal Planning and Community Resilience Division
Jason Liechty Environmental Projects Coordinator

Monroe County Staff Steering Committee Members

Roman Gastesi County Administrator
Michael Roberts Director of Planning & Growth Management

Miami-Dade County Staff Steering Committee Members

Jim Murley Chief Resilience Officer
Nichole Hefty Chief, Office of Sustainability

Palm Beach County Staff Steering Committee Members

Jon Van Arnam Assistant County Administrator
Natalie Schneider AICP Climate Change & Sustainability Coordinator

Municipal Representatives

Penni Redford Sustainability Manager, West Palm Beach
Alison Higgins
 Sustainability Manager, City of Key West
Elizabeth Wheaton Director, Environmental and Sustainability Department, City of Miami Beach
Lorie Mertens-Black Chief Civic Affairs Officer, City of Hollywood

Key Partners

In addition to the Staff Steering Committee, the Compact Counties are actively working with key partners in fulfilling the commitments made under the Compact. While many entities have made extraordinary contributions to the Compact process since its inception, the following partners have given ongoing support and advisory roles for the Southeast Florida Regional Climate Compact and the Staff Steering Committee. Implementation support is provided by the Institute for Sustainable Communities with funding by the Kresge Foundation.

Institute for Sustainable Communities

Steve Adams Director of Urban Resilience and Regional Compact Staff Steering Committee Coordinator

Nancy Schneider Senior Program Officer and Staff to the Staff Steering Committee

South Florida Water Management District

John Mitnik, P.E. Chief District Engineer

The Nature Conservancy – Florida Chapter

Chris Bergh South Florida Program Manager

Florida Climate Institute

Carolyn Cox Coordinator

The following is a list of municipalities that have signed onto the Mayors’ Climate Action Pledge in support of the Southeast Florida Regional Climate Change Compact and the Regional Climate Action Plan. If you are a municipality and have already signed, visit our Past the Pledge Checklist for next steps!


City of North Miami
Adopted June 27, 2017

Town of Highland Beach
Adopted June 6, 2017

City of Boca Raton
Adopted May 23, 2017

City of Miami
Adopted April 11, 2017

Miami Shores Village
Adopted October 3, 2016

Village of Islamorada
Adopted September 25, 2016

Town of Jupiter
Adopted December 15, 2015

City of Hialeah
Adopted December 11, 2015

Town of Key Biscayne
Adopted November 12, 2015

City of Coral Gables
Adopted August 25, 2015

City of West Palm Beach
Adopted May 26, 2015

City of Delray Beach
Adopted January 21, 2014

Town of Bay Harbor Islands
Adopted 2013

City of South Miami
Adopted 9/3/2013

Town of Surfside
Adopted 5/15/2013

City of Sunrise
Adopted 3/26/2013

City of Margate
Adopted 3/20/2013

City of Deerfield Beach
Adopted 3/19/2013

City of Wilton Manors
Adopted 3/12/2013

City of North Lauderdale
Adopted 3/12/2013

City of Coconut Creek
Adopted 2/28/2013

Town of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea
Adopted 2/26/2013

City of Oakland Park
Adopted 2/20/2013

City of Pompano Beach
Adopted 2/12/2013

City of Miami Beach
Adopted 2/6/2013

City of Hallandale Beach
Adopted 2/6/2013

Town of Davie
Adopted 2/6/2013

City of Lauderhill
Adopted 1/28/2013

City of Hollywood
Adopted 1/23/2013

City of Dania Beach
Adopted 1/22/2013

Village of Pinecrest
Adopted 12/11/2012

Town of Hillsboro Beach
Adopted 12/5/2012

City of Boynton Beach
Adopted 12/4/2012

City of Key West
Adopted 12/4/2012

City of Fort Lauderdale
Adopted 11/6/2012

I am interested in

First Name

Last Name

Your Email (required)

Add me to the Compact email list

Your Message

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required